More News From Nowhere

New Year’s Revolution

Posted in General, Racing, Riding by brettok on January 1, 2010


Sometimes, you’ve got to do things that you don’t really want to, but need to.  Like riding the trainer.  A couple of ordinary days weather-wise after Christmas necessitated this bugbear, but a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do. Why do I gotta do it?

Because there’s a score to settle, that’s why.  And December wasn’t exactly a great month of riding for me, in fact I’d been more than a little slack.  But that’s been rapidly changing in the last week, with riding almost every day, and some condition and motivation finally making themselves apparent.  Mini-Me has embarked on a rigourous training program designed by Silas, and Tosh has offered his services to myself and Josh.  I seriously considered it, but it seems that he wants paying for said services, the hide! With my bank account nowhere near as fat as my midriff, I’ve decided to use my own knowledge, some ideas stolen from Mike’s tales of his program, and the Eddy Merckx training motto (when asked for his three training tips);  “Ride your bike, ride your bike, ride your bike.”  Sounds easy, eh?  I’m sure I can manage three rides between now and Karapoti…

How can one not take heed of a man with such a steely-eyed stare?  I thinks there’s some missing letters on his jersey though, should be an ‘H’ and a ‘D’ on either side of the ‘A’ and ‘R’…

Leave a Reply

