More News From Nowhere

140

Posted in Bikes, General, Kit by brettok on October 25, 2009

…It’s the new 120.

P1060801

The Big Kahuna has a theory that if you work in a bike shop, you should upgrade your bikes at least every two years.

Who am I to argue?

P1060795

Blame him.  And Josh.  As soon as the idea of a Stumpy upgrade was aired, Josh had the staff purchase forms filled out, and Kahuna added his signature without question.

What are friends for?

So here it is, my new 2010 Stumpjumper FSR Comp.  In name only, as everything bar the frame, fork and shock were swapped out for my nice bits.  I’ve gained 20mm of travel, and around 100g of weight.  That will be shaved with the steerer cut down, some of these, one of these and a lighter front tyre.  But 11.8kg is pretty damn good for a 5 inch travel beast with a drop-post (which has tidy cable routing on the frame too).

P1060800 

    I love it.  It feels just like all my Stumpys have, it climbs great, and goes over rough stuff with a more solid feel than my 08 did.  And the looks are more akin to my 07, with a tougher disposition about it.  Fun times ahead.

P1060797

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brewsher said, on October 25, 2009 at 6:42 PM

    I remember the days when you were dead against dulies

  2. brettok said, on October 25, 2009 at 6:53 PM

    Yep… the days when they were heavy and didn’t work.

  3. Brewsher said, on October 25, 2009 at 8:06 PM

    I got my enduro that year… I believe the SX frame is still based on that one.

  4. Mini me said, on October 25, 2009 at 8:43 PM

    You know… You’ve almost convinced me.


Leave a Reply

