More News From Nowhere

Fade to black

Posted in Bikes, General by brettok on September 25, 2009

 

P1060638

A month or two back, I noticed a tiny crack in the paint of my Roubaix Pro.  Of course, this could only be no good.  Or could it?

P1060319

A photo of said blemish was emailed to Fraser, who got the ball rolling and by that afternoon a replacement frame had been approved.

No one knew what model it would be, what year or colour.  But I knew it had to be a Pro or an S Works, as my integrated crankset would only fit those frames.

Weeks went by, I studied the catalogues, wondering what I would get.  Hoping for certain models, so as to match my existing wheels and components.

Today it turned up.

P1060642

Result!

A 2009 S Works SL2, in Quickstep livery.  Matches perfectly, and is a whole new look for me.  I loved my white Pro, but I’m loving this black beauty already.

Not only does it look great, but I’ve dropped almost 400 grams in the process!  Weight weenie heaven.

P1060649

I swapped out the white saddle for the black Toupe from my Tricross after todays maiden voyage.  Yeah, looks the goods, but might still try a white/white tape/saddle combo though….

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. K MAN said, on September 26, 2009 at 9:12 AM

    Yeah ,better than the white -Now get those hoods up -floyd style.

  2. K MAN said, on September 26, 2009 at 9:15 AM

    Get a new seat -and get me some handlebars

    I need 660 mm at 5 degree rearward and 4 degree upward -Raceface Next Carbon Riser 1.5 inch -not available here

  3. slug said, on September 26, 2009 at 12:21 PM

    copy cat. I got mine first, so yours has got to go !!! you can keep the seat. ( I still own the hills)

  4. brettok said, on September 26, 2009 at 1:47 PM

    Col,

    this is nothing like yours. This is an SL2, not that old school thing you’re running! Give up on the hill thing, you’re not even fooling yourself anymore, surely…

    Keedos,

    I’ll look into that for you.

  5. brettok said, on September 26, 2009 at 1:54 PM

    Kman,

    Can get em…

    Call me for price etc.

  6. K MAN said, on September 26, 2009 at 2:51 PM

    Legend -I was nearly forced to the Dark Side – Chain Reaction.Dirt works only bring in the Next SL which is only 635 mm wide


Leave a Reply

