More News From Nowhere

Il Progetto, Phase 2

Posted in Bikes, Road by brettok on September 29, 2010

As it is Worlds Week over at Velominati, the Bosomworth project will take centre stage right here, right now.

The old girl is in a rideable state, but is still far from finished.  The wheels bought on TradeMe turned up on Monday, and I was able to fit the 11 speed cassette, which in turn enabled the fitting of the chain and cables.

New cable guides with cool alloy barrel adjusters were installed on the down tube, and the cables carefully fitted to the shifters.  I did the around-the-headtube routing method, crossing the cables under the downtube.

$60 scored me the Chorus hubs laced to Mavic Open Pro rims, but the front rim was damaged beyond rideable, and the blue wasn’t my first choice of rim hue (although it kind of works with the frame).  The rear wheel is good enough to get me going until my new hoops get built next week.

There was really only one rim choice on my mind, Ambrosio.  A bit of asking around garnered me these Excellence clinchers, with the added bonus of the old school gold branding and counterweight.  Paris-Roubaix styles right there.

I went with the retro-styled bar tape, which doesn’t really give much when wrapping, and pissed me off enough for me to enlist the mastery of Josh, who did a grand job of finishing it off for me.  Chur bro.  Elite cages, a Toupe saddle and an unidentified seatpost were also fitted.  The post may yet have to be replaced with something a touch longer, but until my pedals are fitted and I can check the set-up I won’t know.  I have my eyes on a Selcof post online which could look cool.

The old Campy headset scrounged from Rachel’s flatmate’s old frame was giving me grief, with the crown race not quite meshing with the steerer, and the pitted cups ‘indexing’.  I found a NOS (new old stock) Shimano 105 unit on the shelf, and bit the bullet and threw it on.  Of course, mixing Japanese and Italian is a no-no, but a bit of judicial polishing removed the ‘S’ logos from the seal, and the cartridge bearings are foolproof and smooth.  I can always get a Campy one down the track if I deem it essential. (Plus I saved a whole 60 grams!)

And so ends Phase 2.  I have ridden it up and down the street and the carpark ramp with some plastic flat pedals fitted, and I must say it feels pretty good.  Definitely feels lighter than the 9.2kg it is currently weighing, and with a bit of luck the new wheels coupled with light tyres and tubes may drop it to 9.  I’m still excited!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Russell said, on September 30, 2010 at 1:43 AM

    Nicely done – the perforated tape is a excellent touch.

  2. Frank said, on September 30, 2010 at 9:06 AM

    That is gold! Lookin’ BEAUTIFUL!

  3. Marko said, on October 21, 2010 at 12:35 AM

    Plenty of artsy shots around here. Dream group man-date: Velominati join forces for a group ride on retro-ish bikes.

  4. Brewsher said, on October 22, 2010 at 11:34 PM

    Now hurry up and show us the finished product!

  5. Leigh Candy said, on January 7, 2011 at 10:38 PM

    Rode round Tassie with you twice, Mr Kennedy. Nice job on the Bosomworth. Nice work on the blog. Am resolved to check your work more often. Keep it coming.

  6. brettok said, on January 8, 2011 at 9:03 AM

    Hey Diesel! Good to hear from you mate. Unfortunately, this old blog doesn’t get the love it used to, but you can check out some stuff I do with the guys over at Velominati.com.

    Hope you are still chugging away mate, I’ll always be grateful for sitting on your wheel on the roads of Tassie!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

